GTD Overview

As we come to the end of the semester and to the end of this book whomepage_bookritten by David Allen, I can say that I have learned a lot.  When this semester started, being the oldest student in the class I felt like maybe I wouldn’t find much use in this book as I have lived in the “real world” with the marriage, the house, the kids, the jobs.  I have learned on my own more so in the jobs I have the had to learn how to juggle different projects at work.  I have learned how to get things done by a specific time.  I have no problem doing all this at work, where I found I really needed help while reading this book was at home and school.

At work, I have an inbox sitting on my desk, each time I go into my office I look through it decide what to do with each item and then move on to the next task.  However, when it comes to home and school.  I don’t have this real inbox, things come in constantly and I never really processed them like I should.  I am still not doing a great job at it, but I am realizing that I am more aware of it.  I have begun to use my phone calendar much more often (which can be a scary sight as it is very full).  I have not progressed as much as I would have liked with all of the steps which I have learned throughout this book.  I am still working on the early on tasks, but I can see the positive changes in my life so far.

The two-minute rule has been a great method for me.  Phone calls use to be an issue for me.  Oh, I will call tomorrow, I don’t have time to do that right now, or I just sat down and don’t want to do it right now.  Now instead I say, how long will it really take?  Come on Chris you can make that phone call that is only going to take a couple minutes than it is off the to-do list. I have become more efficient with many tasks because of this method. Yes, I realize I am talking a lot about the early book, but I’m being honest that these are some of the things I am really still working on.  Didn’t you read my last post….I am a procrastinator!  🙂

Overall, this is a book I plan to keep around and continue to use as I work through it at my own pace.  I am always looking for new ways to become more efficient so that I can have more down time, instead of always working on something.  After all being the Youth Pastor, Kiwanian and Student (and currently the Christian Ed Director as well), there is not much down time.  I do highly recommend this book for anyone who is looking to organize their busy lives.  It really is a great resource!

Leave a Reply

